Skip to Content
Home / news / Press Releases

Press Releases

Congressman Young Announces 2018 Service Academy Nominations

Washington, D.C., February 13, 2018 | Murphy McCollough (202-225-5765)
Tags: Education

Alaska Congressman Don Young announced his official list of Alaskan students nominated for appointment to a United States Service Academy for the class of 2022.

“I’m always proud of the young students who are interested in serving our country,” said Congressman Young. “This year, I’m delighted to nominate an exceptional group of Alaskans to our nation’s service academies. These nominees reflect the values of our state and are a strong example of what the next generation can achieve. I wish them all the best in the academy appointment process and I look forward to seeing their many successes.”

Earning a Service Academy nomination is a tremendous honor and accomplishment but does not guarantee an academy appointment. Final nominations will be made by the respective service academies in the coming months.

A list of Congressman Don Young’s 49 nominees and their hometowns are below:

U.S. Military Academy – West Point, New York:

Nathan B. Alfano, Anchorage

Michael Y. Altenburg, JBER

Kirsten Alvarado, Anchorage

Garrett O. Anderson, Palmer

Kenneth D. Campbell-Parson, Ft. Wainwright

Hanna M. Fitzgerald, Eagle River

Caleb J. Hopkins, Palmer

David J. Hwang, Ft. Wainwright

Nolan P. Johnson, Eagle River

Michael A. Lucero, Fairbanks

Kyle L. McKamey, Eielson AFB

Christopher D. Orta, Anchorage

Cody S. Quelland, Soldotna

Holden S. Quinn, Palmer

Emily G. Rivera, Kodiak

Jacob C. Schlenker, North Pole

Garrett E. Smoot, Eagle River

Calvin E. Strong, Kenai

Shafer S. Suzuki, Juneau

Rebecca M. Syrup, Anchorage


U.S. Air Force Academy – Colorado Springs, Colorado:

Mallori T. Allen, Wasilla

Grant A. Barkhurst, Elmendorf AFB

Mikaela C. Becker, JBER

Isaac E. Bennett, Eagle River

Trevor G. Houghton, Anchorage

Carter M. Kreischer, Kodiak

Madison L. Maroney, Anchorage

Wade Quigley, Girdwood

Cameron R. Shideler,

Matthew C. Simmons, Anchorage


U.S. Naval Academy,  Annapolis, Maryland:


Hunter P. Bleakney,  Palmer

Tamara B. Brabson,  Eagle River

Daniel L. Clum Jr., Wasilla

Kyle P. Collins,  Anchorage

Gavin K. Kim, JBER

Kade J. Leonard, Eielson AFB

Mikaela A. Maroney, Anchorage

Nolan C. Meyer, Ketchikan

Joseph R. Ryan, Wasilla

Vince R. Tenebro, Ketchikan


U.S. Merchant Marine Academy – Kings Point, New York:

Philip M. Andress, Anchorage

Alex B. Binder, Anchorage

Ryan B. Chastain, Palmer

Quentin H. Cox, Valdez

Kenneth C. Donnolly, JBER

Oriana A. Faruqi, Anchorage

Anders B. Marius, Sitka

Sean K. O’Meara, Juneau

Colton W. Ramsey, Fairbanks


Connect With Don